Your Story

One thing I do know, that though I was blind, now I see… John 9:25

There are so many tatics and ways to share the gospel with others today that do a good job of presenting what Christ has done for us.  I can think of 3 of the top of my head that I have encouraged students to memorize and use regularly: the G.O.S.P.E.L acronym from Dare 2 Share (Shred the Gnar bro!), the ABC’s (thank you Lifeway and all your VBS-ness), and the Way of the Master method that I’m fairly new to here at Highland Park. All of these are good ways to do it, and I will try my best to fill out the situation to see how God wants me to share the Gospel.  However, I believe the best way is one that somehow gets overlooked.

Students should be trained to share their story.  Being able to share their testimony very clearly and concisely is probably the best way to communicate God’s love for others that I can think of.  The drawback comes when the words of the testimony do not match up with the life example the person is living. It’s much easier to give a canned presentation of the gospel and never have to back up anything with you life.  But if we want to be the most effective in our ministry efforts, our lives better show the love of Christ at all times!

I’m not sure who came up with the idea that your personal story had to be something that is  long, drawn out, complex, and goes into each detail of your life without/before Christ.  I’m not sure that’s the best way to go about it.  I am not saying that you should ignore your past, but we all want to be careful to not glorify the life before Christ.  I have instructed people to give 5 minute testimonies broken down like this:

1 minute – life before Christ

2 minutes – How/When Christ saved you

2 minutes – what Christ is doing in your life right now!

If we really want to win others to the Family for the sake of the Gospel, then we should be prepared and willing to share our story at all times with whoever we can.  May God get the glory!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

