Celebrate Mistakes (redux)

 love the band Number One Gun. I remember several years ago when I first heard them and immediately went and got their CD Celebrate Mistakes. In the title track, there’s a lyric that states “

Could it be so bad (to follow all these dreams) I have (and use them for Your glory).

I remember having conversations with my good friend and fellow #1G fan, Matt Evans, about this very line on a ride home from school one night. We talked about taking your passions and using that to glorify God. As I sit here in my office and listen to that line is sparks a desire to make my passions count. I think God is much more pleased in us when glorify Him, when he is  a priority seen in our lives, via who we really are. Far too many times in the church, we feel that we have to fit a mold that others have made.  I have heard “he may be the next Billy Graham” from many pastors and others (not about myself mind you, but I’ve heard that used in descriptions of others).  Billy Graham is a great man of God who’s influence on America  for the sake of the gospel may never be duplicated; however, I don’t think God wants anyone else to be “the next Billy Graham.” God wants me to be a man who follows after Him completely and uses my passions for His glory.  

I guess the point in all my ramblings is to say, just be yourself. I will just be myself.  If not, then we are failing in keeping His commands – “And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.”- Col. 3:17

    • Elizabeth
    • March 30th, 2010

    I enjoyed your blog about being yourself. Would you like to contribute this to our resource library at http://www.calledtoyouthministry.com?

    -Elizabeth Pangalangan (empangalangan@yahoo.com)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

