My Beautiful Idol

Very few times in my life do I read something and just stop.  There’s a lot that I read that impacts me.  Most of what I read (especially the nonfiction stuff) makes me stop and reassess something, anything about my life, my ministry, my relationship to the Father.  

And then there was My Beautiful Idol.

I am 2 days removed from finishing Pete Gall’s manifesto (not sure he would call it that, but I do).  I did take a break from reading leadership books, or so I thought, and picked this book up with no expectations. The reviews I read looked good and a friend of mine talked about it, so I ordered the book.  I was in no way prepared for what I read when I tore through this book.  I am still processing it all, but within My Beautiful Idol, I found instruction, encouragement, and guidance on leadership skills, Bible teaching, and a whole host of other topics.  I look forward to falling back into this book to examine just what I have learned from Pete Gall’s autobiographical confession. Thanks Pete. Oh and if you follow me on twitter, I’ll be really pumped!

  1. Now following. Thank you very, very much for taking the time with the book, with writing about it, and in finding me. As you probably noticed in the book, I’m prone to ego and heroism, and I’ve tried to be intentional about not getting too deep into self-promotion and such. The reward has been much less temptation to believe my hype…but the cost has been much less hype, and very few dollars. I’m very happy with this passive path, and it makes the delight of responses like yours that much greater for me. If you tell friends about the book and they’re more audiobook people (as I’ve become) you can tell them there is an any price (including free) download/streaming option at http://noisetrade.com/petegall … Drop me an email and I’d be happy to hook you up with my second book too. Thanks again – now I’m going to dig around in the rest of your site.
    Pete

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

