Review: “The Money Answer Book” by Dave Ramsey

I got a recommendation for Booksneeze from a friend of mine and I took it. I thought it would be a cool way to get to read/review some books and possibly boost my blog reader stats. I’ve been doing a lot of reading on personal and church leadership.  I guess it boils down to this. I think I’m a crappy leader.  I know God wants me to be a better leader, so I’m asking Him for help. But I digress…

The first book I got from Booksneeze was The Money Answer Book by Dave Ramsey.  Now, what does this have to do with leadership, you may ask. Well, maybe nothing, but I feel like it is helping me get leadership of my finances and I believe that God wants me to have that as well.

Basically, I have 3 views on this book.  If you have read any of Dave Ramsey’s other books (Financial Peace or The Total Money Makeover), then you have already ready The Money Answer Book. This is not a book to be read and expect anything ground breaking or earth shattering concerning Dave’s principles.  I guess it would be crazy to expect something different from him, to be honest.  His principles of financial management haven’t change and wont.

However, if you have not read any of his books, this is a great place to start.  Without going into a great amount of detail, he highlights nearly everything that he stands for.  It really can whet the appetite for some of his other books, especially The Total Money Makeover. The Money Answer Book is a perfect place to begin your journey down the road to financial peace.

Since I have read Financial Peace and The Total Money Makeover is sitting on my shelf waiting, I really viewed The Money Answer Book as a great tool for me.  I look at it as a money search engine or a quick reference guide.  The way that he lays this book out, you don’t have to read it chapter by chapter. You can check out the table of contents, find a subject that you are curious about, and skim through all the topics in that chapter until you find an answer to your question.  It really is very handy. I appreciate books that want to make my life a little easier, and The Money Answer Book does just that.  But I would make sure that you read Ramsey’s other books too, so you can get the full picture as to the details of what he is talking about in this one.

I give it 3.5 stars for it content and 4 for its functionality

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

