Does this line up?

I am taking an online training course from www.calledtoyouthministry.com So far, I’ve enjoyed the weekly reading. I am excited about the phone sessions that will come with it.  I ran across a quote this morning in my reading that I thought I would share.

A study which surveyed youth pastors in Illinois found that almost all of them believe building relationships with students is the best thing they could do to disciple students, and that teens forget most of what they hear during lessons and messages. Yet an average of 80% of their time was spent preparing weekly lessons. Does that line up?
So, does it? Any thoughts?

    • Josh Vick
    • August 25th, 2010

    It does not line up. However just because they believe it doesn’t mean the Sr Pastor believes it or the parents. Sometimes being lower on the food chain has its restrictions.

  1. Thanks Josh, I would agree. I am thankful that I serve a Sr Pastor and with a staff that encourages me to NOT be in the office as much as possible. But even with that, I still find that in my day to day duties I rarely think of relationship building as something to put on my task list.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

